Baton Rouge Drug Crimes Attorney
Providing An Experienced Defense For Drug Crime Charges in East Baton Rouge Parish
While Louisiana is known for some laid-back laws (i.e., drinking in public, drive-thru daquiris, etc.), the same does not apply to drug laws. In fact, Louisiana’s marijuana laws are some of the strictest in the country. If you were charged with a drug crime in this state, you need to get help from Baton Rouge criminal defense lawyers. At Dewey & Braud Law, LLC, our team offers over 15 combined years of experience to help you develop a strong defense and protect your future.
Louisiana’s Drug Possession Laws
Louisiana drug possession laws are some of the strictest in the nation. Depending on the amount and type of drug found in your possession, you can be given a misdemeanor or even a felony. In the state of Louisiana, drug possession charges are a permanent mark on your criminal record.
Is Possession With the Intent to Distribute a Felony in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, possession with the intent to distribute can lead to felony charges. The punishment that you face will depend on the substance and the quantity that was found. The judge may also include your past criminal behavior. You could also face a harsh mandatory sentence for the felony drug offense.
Is Marijuana Legal in Louisiana?
Since 2017, marijuana has only been legalized for medicinal use. Those who unlawfully possess marijuana, 14 grams or less, face a misdemeanor offense with a possible jail sentence of up to 15 days and up to $300 in fines, or both. The punishment range will increase for > 14 grams and will increase if you have any prior convictions for possession or intent to distribute.
What are the Penalties for Drug Possession?
Those found in possession of cocaine could face:
Under 2 grams: 2 years in prison and fines of up to $5,000
- 2 to 28 grams: 1-5 years in prison and fines up to $5,000
Those found in possession of heroin could face:
- Under 2 grams: 2-4 years in prison
- 2 to 28 grams: 2-10 years in prison and fines up to $5,000 for possession
Range of Punishment continues to increase with weight, and the State will likely charge you with PWIT (Possession with Intent to Distribute)
Are Edibles Legal in Louisiana?
Edibles and other hemp products and beverages containing CBD are banned in Louisiana. Those who break hemp regulations in Louisiana face fines ranging from $300 - $5,000 ranging on the number of hemp offenses committed.
Contact Our Baton Rogue Drug Crimes Lawyer Today
Our team understands the challenges of building an effective defense, and we want to help you do whatever is necessary to avoid a conviction. By getting started early on your case, we will have more time to review the charges against you. In many cases, we have been able to find critical errors made by the prosecution that were pivotal in the client’s outcome. Let us help you.
Contact Dewey & Braud Law, LLC, today to get started on your defense with our Baton Rogue drug crimes attorney.
2 Counts Domestic Abuse Battery Reduced Charges
Armed Robbery Case Dismissed
Domestic Abuse Battery Case Dismissed
Domestic Battery Reduced to Misdemeanor
DWI Penalty Reduced
DWI Case Dismissed
DWI Case Dismissed
DWI Reduced Charges
DWI with Accident Case Dismissed