Commercial drivers depend on having a valid driver’s license to make a living. Louisiana does not have a point system to penalize drivers but, they do hold CDL holders to a very high standard of conduct. If you violate speeding rules, in Louisiana or any other state, you could be facing a loss of driving rights for 60 days. This penalty increases to three years if you were carrying hazardous materials at the time of the citation.
Too often, drivers consider a moving violation a nuisance and simply pay the ticket. However, if you are a CDL holder, you often do not have this luxury because paying the ticket means you are in effect pleading guilty to the offense. This will have an impact on you making a living. Keep in mind, other violations that are specific to truckers including being overweight could also result in your license being suspended for 60 days. Out-of-state violations of any traffic laws could mean you are considered a second time offender if you are later cited in Louisiana; this means an even longer suspension of your license.
If you are a commercial driver and have received a traffic citation in or out of Louisiana, do not put your livelihood at risk; contact Dewey & Braud Law, LLC in Baton Rouge, LA for immediate help. We will work aggressively to help you maintain your driving privileges.