Under Louisiana Code of Law § 14:98, it is illegal to operate a vehicle, aircraft, or vessel of any kind while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both drugs and alcohol. Drivers cannot have a BAC of 0.08% or higher. If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you can face serious social and financial consequences—and not just because of the hefty fines imposed by the Court. A conviction can cause your car insurance rates to drastically increase.
How Does a DWI Conviction Impact Your Car Insurance Rates?
The average annual car insurance rate before a DWI is on your driving record and criminal record is $2,379; the annual insurance rate for policyholders who are convicted of a DWI is $3,479 (which is a 46% increase). However, according to Bankrate, a DWI conviction can cause your automobile insurance premium to increase by up to 99% annually.
Bankrate also used Quadrant Information Services to investigate the average yearly car insurance rates for Louisiana drivers with a DWI, from top insurance providers. The breakdown of the insurance premiums is as follows:
- $2,067/year from Progressive
- $2,126/year from USAA
- $2,481/year from State Farm
- $3,227/year from Geico
- $4,287/year from Allstate
Best Car Insurance after a DWI in Louisiana
In selecting a car insurance provider, you should compare their rates, because you can receive a customized quote that accounts for the specifics of your case. There are a lot of factors that can impact your insurance rates, including but not limited to:
- The type of coverage you want
- The type of vehicle(s) on your policy
- Incidents on your driving records
Do I Have to Tell My Insurer About My DWI?
If you are arrested under suspicion of a DWI, you do not need to tell your insurer. However, if you are convicted of a DWI, your driving record will reflect that, and you might want to report the conviction to your insurer yourself. Even if you do not tell your insurer about the conviction, they can find out when you try to renew or apply for a new policy. It is also important to note that a DWI conviction can remain on your driving record for up to 10 years.
Can You Drive Without Insurance in Louisiana?
No, you cannot drive without insurance. Legally, Louisiana drivers must carry minimum liability coverage on any automobiles they own. If you are stopped by police or get into an accident, you must show proof of insurance or you can face serious fines, a license suspension, and a car impoundment.
Get Help from Our DWI Attorneys Today
At Dewey & Braud Law, LLC, our attorneys have extensive legal experience. Convictions can impact your financial and social rights and freedoms, which is why it’s so important to retain experienced legal counsel.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a DWI offense, we are equipped to help you develop a solid defense strategy. While each case is unique, possible defenses include:
- Illegal Traffic Stops;
- Challenging field sobriety tests;
- Issues with faulty breath or blood tests;
- Insufficient evidence of “operating” (i.e. sleeping it off, another party drove, etc.)
For help protecting your rights and fighting DWI charges, schedule a free case consultation today. Call (225) 414-5954 or reach out online.